Facebook: Releasing your personal data reveals our trade secrets
October 11, 2011 Published by Rajesh Goel
We’ve said for years that the internet remembers forever. Here’s proof that Facebook embodies that ethos…
Here’s a SMALL sampling of what Zuckerberg collects, repacages and sells…but never deletes….
- Pokes are kept even after the user “removes” them.
- Facebook is collecting data about people without their knowledge. This information is used to substitute existing profiles and to create profiles of non-users.
- Tags are used without the specific consent of the user. Users have to “untag” themselves (opt-out). Note: Facebook has announced changes for this.
- Facebook is gathering personal data e.g. via its iPhone-App or the “friend finder”. This data is used by Facebook without the consent of the data subjects.
- Postings that have been deleted showed up in the set of data that was received from Facebook.
- Users cannot see the settings under which content is distributed that they post on other’s pages.
- Messages (incl. Chat-Messages) are stored by Facebook even after the user “deleted” them. This means that all direct communication on Facebook can never be deleted.
- The new face recognition feature is an disproportionate violation of the users right to privacy. Proper information and an unambiguous consent of the users is missing.
- Access Requests have not been answered fully. Many categories of information are missing.
- Tags that were “removed” by the user, are only deactivated but saved by Facebook.
- In its terms, Facebook says that it does not guarantee any level of data security.
- Applications of “friends” can access data of the user. There is no guarantee that these applications are following European privacy standards.
- All removed friends are stored by Facebook. This was reconfirmed recently.
- Facebook is hosting enormous amounts of personal data and it is processing all data for its own purposes. It seems Facebook is a prime example of illegal “excessive processing”.
- Facebook is running an opt-out system instead of an opt-in system, which is required by European law.
- The Like Button is creating extended user data that can be used to track users all over the internet. There is no legitimate purpose for the creation of the data. Users have not consented to the use.
- Facebook has certain obligations as a provider of a “cloud service” (e.g. not using third party data for its own purposes or only processing data when instructed to do so by the user).
- The privacy settings only regulate who can see the link to a picture. The picture itself is “public” on the internet. This makes it easy to circumvent the settings.
- Facebook is only deleting the link to pictures. The pictures are still public on the internet for a certain period of time (more than 32 hours).
- Users can be added to groups without their consent. Users may end up in groups that lead other to false impressions about a person.
- The policies are changed very frequently, users do not get properly informed, they are not asked to consent to new policies.
via Facebook: Releasing your personal data reveals our trade secrets | ZDNet.